Young ewe won't lie down

More
2 years 9 months ago #555526 by Cmj
Young ewe won't lie down was created by Cmj
Hello,
I am fairly new to lifestyle block living.
I have a one year old ewe/lamb who hasn't wanted to or been able to lie down for 3 days now. She is still eating, but her legs are a bit stiff, maybe from standing so long. She does droop her head quite abit.I think she is accidentally in lamb from my pet who was obviously not castrated properly as two other ewes have had lambs.Rang my vet but didn't seem to have any answers. Thought I would try here before I contact another vet. Thank you for any advice.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 9 months ago #555527 by LongRidge
Replied by LongRidge on topic Young ewe won't lie down
Catch her and sniff her vagina. If it smells like pee then put a finger into then smell that. If either smell rotten then the lamb has died inside her. When that happens it is usually impossible to get the lamb out, and even if you do get the lamb out the ewe almost always dies. So take a very sharp knife with you to cut her throat if she stinks.

More
2 years 9 months ago #555528 by 16 Paws
Replied by 16 Paws on topic Young ewe won't lie down
Longridge, your reply seems like a fairly big leap form the original poster’s question! Are there any signs the ewe is about to give birth? Has her udder “bagged up”? How well is she grazing and moving around the paddock? If she is in late pregnancy, she could be developing sleepy sickness; that will often reduce activity, but normally the sheep would be lying down. Does she seem to be in pain? Any grinding of her teeth or arching of her back? Lots of things to look at besides vaginal odour in my opinion.

More
2 years 9 months ago #555529 by Live4cows
Replied by Live4cows on topic Young ewe won't lie down