How do you do it?

More
7 years 7 months ago #524548 by CEW79
How do you do it? was created by CEW79
I'm wondering what everyone else does? I want to tag my sheep so I can make sure I know which lamb belongs to which ewe. This is my first year with Whiltshires and they are pretty hard to tell apart. Ive always had Suffolk and they were so easy to visually tell apart and write down their character and colour etc. So would love to hear what you all do :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago #524561 by Kilmoon
Replied by Kilmoon on topic How do you do it?
I tag our lambs within a day or two of birth, but I can easily get up close to the mums so no one takes off across the paddocks at speed. We use the fold over tag that I've engraved their number on with the soldering iron (then use the black permanent marker to write the number over the engraved lines). Its relatively easy to do as its a self-clip type: the applicator holds the tag semi folded over and it punches its own hole through the ear and into itself as you close the handle. Spray with iodine on each side of the hole in the ear and they're good to go.

More
7 years 7 months ago #524567 by Stikkibeek
Replied by Stikkibeek on topic How do you do it?
A word of caution on the use of iodine. Make absolutely sure it's the water based one, not the tincture (Isopropyl Alcohol) as the second one will damage eyes if spray or splash gets in them. A sheep may well shake its head as a reaction to the tag, so splash is very likely.

Did you know, that what you thought I said, was not what I meant :S

More
7 years 7 months ago #524572 by jeannielea
Replied by jeannielea on topic How do you do it?